Tacoma office Building History
One thing that makes Connelly Law Offices so unique is the rich history of its location. Located in Old Town Tacoma, the building which now homes Connelly Law Offices has a fascinating history which dates back to the early years of the city of Tacoma itself.
The building was built in the early 1890s by Anthony Carr, the brother of Tacoma settler Job Carr, and was originally known as Carr’s Hall. Carr’s Hall originally served as a meeting hall and community center for local residents of Old Town Tacoma. By 1893, Carr’s Hall was converted into a Knights of Pythias Temple, Lodge No. 22 before it was eventually turned into the Jugoslav Hal by 1926. In the late 1920s and early 1930s, the building operated as a grocery store owned by Anton Busch and later, Dominic Constanti. When Constanti passed away in 1937, the building lay vacant until 1943. During this time, the building was rumored to operate as a brothel. In 1943, Dominic Constanti’s widow, Mary, converted the building into apartments. During the 1970s, the building once again lay vacant before it was purchased and remodeled in 1983 and known as Grazie’s Italian Restaurant until the early 2000s.
In 2006, Jack Connelly purchased the building and founded Connelly Law Offices. The historic building still maintains its rich history and is a great attraction for history buffs and architectural admirers alike. This historical legacy adds to the unique experience of Connelly Law Offices and is just one more reason why Connelly Law Offices is a special place for all who enter through its doors.